Birthday fudge!

I’m in my PJs by seven o’clock and, if possible, in bed by nine o’clock; I prefer the taste of coffee over the taste of wine; I find myself jumping to the worst case scenario or believing crazy conspiracy theories; and, I catch myself singing song lyrics incorrectly and in a odd singing voice.

So, I must ask myself the question that I have been terrified to say aloud:

When did I become my mother? 

Mom Outside

I suppose my fate was inevitable and becoming my mother isn’t the worst thing in the world; not only is she incredibly generous, but she is one of the strongest people I have ever known.  Caring for our family is no easy feat (as this household is packed with personality), and every day, she does so with ease.  Although my mom and I may bump heads (a lot), I think it’s because our personalities are the perfect blend of too similar and too different.  And as far-fetched as some of her life lessons may be, she has taught me some valuable ones, ones that help me thicken my skin when the world acts petty.

So today, while many are going out to celebrate Cinco de Mayo, we are celebrating my mother’s birthday. Well, that is IF it’s not down pouring outside (her request, not mine).

Mom and Watson

Being in the full swing of pre-Adoptathon-Bakeathon, I had to make sure my mom received a special treat of her own.

IMG_1540

One of my mom’s favorite snacks is pistachio nuts; I knew that if I was going to make her anything, I wanted to incorporate this.  Let me tell you, there is nothing more fun than unshelling 3/4 cups of pistachio nuts, only to find out that you could have bought them unshelled.  For my mom, though, it was well worth it!

IMG_1563

My mom is not the biggest fan of sweets, always preferring to go for a salty and savory snack instead; I thought a combination of the two would be the perfect birthday treat.  Attempting to double boil 20oz of white chocolate, 3 tablespoons of butter and 14oz of sweet and condensed milk in my tiny double boiler proved interesting.  However, I was lucky enough to get through this feat without any spills or drips.

I was pleased by the result: a sweet and savory craisin and pistachio, white chocolate fudge. My mom was happy too, quickly packing up half of the fudge to take with her to work.  It’s funny, it reminded me of when we were kids and used to bring treats in for our elementary school class.  Oh, to be young at heart. Happy Birthday Mom!   

Mom and Nanny Crazy

Author: cafeforstrays

Making the world a better place, one cookie at a time.

Leave a Reply

