I hate sugar cookies

Okay, maybe hate is a strong word.  But sugar cookies and I? We have beef.

When I first started playing around with cookie cutters and new recipes, I was excited to dabble in this venture; however, I am slowly learning that sugar cookies and I are currently intertwined in quite the love/hate relationship.  Or, maybe I am just grumpy from this week’s baking escapades.  Or, maybe I’m just grumpy in general? It could really be either option. 

IMG_1428.JPG

On a random side note: I swear, I will go bankrupt from buying butter – but I digress!

IMG_1441

Tomorrow, my manager and I have our Annual Volunteer Appreciation Brunch; although the event is catered, staff have the chance to bake dessert to help show our appreciation for all of the work our volunteers do.  Naturally, I was walking into this week excited to bake my brains out!  This year’s theme for Volunteer Appreciation Month is Volunteers Make the World a Brighter Place, and a reoccurring symbol within our brunch is a butterfly.  My plan was set: I was determined to make butterfly shaped cookies.  Unfortunately, this feat did not go as well as I had hoped.

All week, I had three trays of cookie dough chilling in our fridge.  The first tray was great, chilled to perfection and ready for cutting.  The second tray did not mix well at all.  Sometimes when I double my batch of sugar cookies, the dough at the very bottom of my mixer fails to blend completely, leaving behind a wet and sticky dough.  This tray did not work out.  The third dough had chilled well; however, our refrigerator had dripped water onto the pan, which seeped through the parchment paper spoiling the dough.  Luckily, I was able to salvage the first tray and I began to brainstorm other dessert options.

IMG_1446

I quickly whipped together a chocolate chip cookie cake, and as long as I am able to successfully transport it, it should be brunch ready!  Although this week’s baking adventures did not go as well as I had anticipated, I am still happy about the cookies I was able to salvage and I hope our volunteers enjoy them as well!

Author: cafeforstrays

Making the world a better place, one cookie at a time.

Leave a Reply

