Spring days were made for classic rock and road trips to no where

Winded after reading that title?  That is certainly how I felt after this weekend! After a long Sunday of baking, I was excited to wake up to this quiet, sunny day.  This past Sunday, we were expecting company over for Palm Sunday dinner; being that this was the first family dinner that I was being asked to bake for, the pressure was on.

IMG_1243

Prepping my rainbow cookies this time around was much different than the first.  The first time I made these, I was extremely nervous, taking every step cautiously.  This time around, I flew through the steps with ease; I didn’t even freak out when the cake cracked or piled unevenly.  I just simply shrugged it off, and fixed my mistakes when it came time to trim the cake.  I guess practice truly does make perfect.

IMG_1253

The next dessert on the docket was my mint oreo and cream cheese truffles.  I love these truffles because they are so simple to make but so worth it!  For these though, the smaller the truffle, the better as they are RICH! IMG_1237

With Palm Sunday desserts out of the way, I couldn’t stop there.  I quickly prepped “red” chocolate chip cookies for work; my friend’s grandson is a huge fan of my baking, always looking for my trusty cookie-container every time he visits the studio.  I learned that his birthday was a few days ago, and he had a special request for red cookies (as red is his favorite color).  Clearly, I had to oblige; anything for my biggest fan!

IMG_1260

The last thing on my baking to-do list was a batch of lemon bars.  I had never made lemon bars before and was a little confused when I received conflicting directions from two different recipes, but in the end, it was completely worth it to see my friend smile.

IMG_1267

With all of my baking out of the way, what was a girl to do on this sunny Monday?

Enjoy the morning, of course!  I met with my younger cousin for coffee to celebrate her admission into college; after dropping her off, I decided to go for a drive.  I made a pit-stop at the beach, but sadly, the sight and sound of a bulldozer rolling across the sand quickly shortened my relaxing escape.

So, I got in my car and I kept driving.  One of my favorite things to do during the spring season is to roll my windows down, turn up the music and adventure on a road trip to no where.  Today, it was the songs of classic rock that filled my speakers, as I danced alone in my car while munching on a bag of dried apple chips.  Sometimes, you just need to get out and wander – no destination in mind,  no end point – you just need to be free.  It is often during these trips that the best discoveries are made; however, even if nothing is found, something as simple as singing and dancing in your car makes the whole trip worth it.  Today was definitely a much needed and enjoyable change of pace.

Author: cafeforstrays

Making the world a better place, one cookie at a time.

Leave a Reply

