; my story is not over yet

Everyone always asks me, “why do you bake so much?”  Baking can be time consuming, costly and a situation on the hips; so why do I do it?

Well, why does anyone take part in any hobby?  It makes me happy. It’s that simple.  Why do I practice hot yoga so much? It makes me happy.  Why do I wander around taking photographs? It makes me happy.  Baking takes me out of my head.  When I find myself slumped, baking helps pull me out of it.

This week, I was on a health(y-ish) kick.  As a lover of all things peanut butter, I was determined to bake something with my favorite indulgence.

IMG_1202

After a quick search, I settled on a recipe that only called for three ingredients; what could be better than that?  Peanut butter, (gluten free) oats and bananas.  Healthy(ish), quick and simple.  I threw some mini chocolate chips and peanut butter chips on top (because: why not?) and called it a day; at the root of it all though, this recipe was created with good intentions.

IMG_1199

Finding hobbies that make us happy are so incredibly important.  They take us away from the negativity, even if just for a moment.  However, in times where we are truly struggling, hobbies may not be enough.  Anxiety and depression can be so painful, so debilitating, that it can feel as though nothing will pull us out of the downward spiral.  Sometimes, it is not easy for someone to open up about what he or she may be feeling; therefore, it is important for us to be kind, sympathetic and brave enough to listen, to help he or she feel safe and accepted.

The most heartbreaking news I could have heard all week was that Amy Bleuel, the founder of Project Semicolon, passed away.  Although I did not know her personally, as a school counseling student and someone who has dealt with their own feelings of depression and anxiety, I found Project Semicolon to be extremely moving and inspiring.

(To learn more about Project Semicolon, please visit: https://projectsemicolon.com)

semi colon

Amy’s passing in no way lessens this beautiful movement, or all the work she has done to serve as an advocate within the mental health community.  The semicolon will always remain as a symbol of hope for anyone who may be struggling, who has struggled or who has lost someone.  We must keep striving forward and keep spreading hope; our story is not over.

If you need support right now, call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255, the Trevor Project at 1-866-488-7386 or text “START” to 741-741.

Author: cafeforstrays

Making the world a better place, one cookie at a time.

Leave a Reply

