Turtle Power

Cowabunga, dude!

This weekend, my family and I made a trip down to New Jersey to attend a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles themed birthday party.  Growing up as a fan of the TMNT live action movies, I was pretty excited.  Upon arrival, EVERYTHING was Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: the plastic ware was green, there was a giant Leonardo balloon, a TMNT Happy Birthday banner hung across the fireplace, and we all wore green as well.

Oh!

Did I forget to mention that this was my older brother’s 30th birthday party?

img_0909

When it comes to my brother and I, one of the few things that we have always bonded over was anything “nerdy”: video games, Star Wars, cartoons and superheroes – with my brother as my guide, I grew up as your typical nerd.

(#NerdLife and proud!)

img_0887

Regardless, we were all excited for a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles themed birthday party.  It might seem juvenile to some, but when else do you get to have fun, be silly and celebrate?

img_0896

(Even Peanut got into the TMNT spirit!)

img_0944

Being that it was my brother’s 30th birthday, I wanted to do something special.  After purchasing a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles visual history book and a memorial plaque of Spike (our first family dog), I felt like something was missing.

And then it hit me!  If there was one thing my brother loved, it was rainbow cookies.

When I first shared this idea with my mom, she had her doubts, and to be honest, so did I.  I was a little intimidated by these cookies; normally, I just throw everything into my mixer and hope for the best.  For my brother’s 30th birthday, though, I was up for the challenge.

img_0851

After reading the recipe over countless times, I was ready to dive in.  All I can say is thank God for technology and my friend, Michelle.  When Michelle isn’t teaching at Hot Yoga 4 You RVC, she works at a bakery where her specialty is rainbow cookies.  Michelle was patient, kind and encouraging as I bombarded her with a play-by-play of my rainbow cookie escapade.

img_0865

Every step was done with great care: double checking the difference between a soft peak and a stiff peak, boiling down the raspberries and blackberries for the the jam-filling, carefully dividing the batter equally among the three pans, and finally assembling and compressing the cookies.  This was certainly the most involved cookie I have ever made.  Even as I awoke the next morning, there was still more work to be done, for what is a rainbow cookie without a chocolate ganache topping?  Finally completing all of the steps and gazing down at the final product, I was really proud of the outcome.

img_0866

I knew the effort had been well worth it after seeing my brother’s reaction.  He enjoyed every bite of the rainbow cookie, and I could not have been happier.  I am really glad that I challenged myself and made these cookies for my brother.  I would like to think that it helped make his 30th birthday a little bit more special.  Now, that’s Turtle Power.

img_0911

 

 

Author: cafeforstrays

Making the world a better place, one cookie at a time.

Leave a Reply

